Centrul Astra Film
Ro / En


Astra Film Festival

Astra Film Festival 2009 - Jury

Antonio Delgado Liz

M.A. in audiovisual production, training in direction and screenwriting. His professional career includes the direction and production of shorts and feature films. He has also worked in television. He has participated in diverse cinema juries. He is currently Adviser for cinema in the area of Arts Management and is head of the Department of Promotion of Spanish Cinema in Madrid, and Director of the Madrid International Documentary Festival – Documenta Madrid.

Leonard Retel Helmrich

Graduated from the Netherlands Film Academy as a fiction director in 1986. In 1990, he made his first feature-length film. With his feature documentary “The Eye of the Day”, he instantly became famous in the documentary film world and won many international awards. He developed the approach “single-shot cinema” and runs workshops to share his technique.

Cristi Puiu

One of the most acclaimed Romanian film directors and screenwriters of the New Wave, he is the author of award-winning shorts and feature films. He has a declared interest in documentary, which is visible in his feature films. Winner of many awards, including Un Certain Regard at Cannes, Silver Hugo Special Jury Prize of the Chicago Film Festival , and The Golden Bear at the Berlin International Film Festival. His most recent production, “Aurora”, is the second film in a series entitled Six Stories from the Outskirts of Bucharest.

Michael Sinclair Stewart

One of the most distinguished anthropologist working in Eastern Europe as well as a film Producer in independent production companies and BBC. Currently coordinator of Marie Curie Funded International training program in anthropology for citizens of former socialist countries.; Ph.D. in Social Anthropology; He has been, variously a fellow at the Institute of Advanced Study, Budapest (Collegium Budapest), a Rubin Research Fellow at School of Public Policy, UCL; a Leverhulme Research Fellow, Dept. of Anthropology, London School of Economics.

Cristian Tabără

He started his career as a journalist for student publications and magazines; worked local, and later for national newspapers, radio and TV stations; Published books on religion; Won many awards for his journalistic activity, as well as for social activism.

Dan Alexe

Worked as an independent radio and TV journalist (BBC World Service); currently completing a PhD at the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales (Paris), on the subject of contemporary Islamic mysticism. During the past ten years, he won several prizes at international festivals such as the International Festival Jean Rouch, Nyon Film Festival, IDFA. In 2007, he won the first prize for the best documentary film, Cabal in Kabul, at Astra Film Festival.

Sorin Botoşeneanu

Dean of The National Film University I. L. Caragiale, Bucharest, Romania, photography teacher inside The Film University and UNATC member. He was the promoter of many Romanian Film Festivals as Tiff, 7ARTE, CinemaIubit and the author of many short movies, talking about tolerance between humans.

Corinne Cauvin-Verner

Film school in Paris, assistant director and screenwriter; doctoral studies in anthropology, received her PhD from l’Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales. Her work was published in 2007 by Editions L’Harmattan. She directed five documentary films and co-authored screenplays.

Thierry Garrel

Former Director of the Documentary Film Department of La Sept which later became ARTE France. He developed many remarked TV series, and developed the renown "Grand Format" slot which has aired over 200 award-winning, feature-length documentaries from all over the world.

Michael Yorke

Documentary filmmaker and professor in visual anthropology; lectures in Visual Anthropology at such institutes as the LSE, SOAS, Oxford University and the Manchester University Granada Centre; an active busy member of the Royal Anthropological Institute Film and Festival committee; runs the Oxford Academy of Documentary Film for training social scientists in digital filming; winner of many awards for his television documentaries.